PD Session 4: Formative Assessment

Report on interdisciplinary work with Math Department

On Friday, a number of biology teachers met with members of the math department. They are very interested in finding ways to collaborate between the two departments.

Exercises in Computer Problem Solving and Exploration

There are three lessons I find to me more important than any other in learning to use a computer. Here they are:

  1. There is almost nothing you can do from the keyboard to harm or permanently damage your computer.
  2. You will be amazed by what you can learn if you simply begin to explore your machine. Take a look to at menus you don’t normally use. Dig around system preferences. Just click on that application you haven’t heard of in your applications folder and try it out.
  3. Your machine and the world around you are filled with useful help. Starting with the application help (which is often poorly designed), but most often with simply googling “how do I do X?” or simply googling the error message one receives from a program. And this says nothing of the incredible forums, twitter, and all the other avenues of help that are available.

So in this sprit, I present the ultimate solution to solving all your computer problems, mapped out in a helpful flow chart by the incredible web comic XKCD:

Problem Solving Challenges

If you a more detailed, funny, and profane version of this flow chart, feel free to check out this link (warning: NSFW language behind link)

Below is a compilation of the questions you asked in the Google survey I sent out. Try to follow the process of exploring and searching for help to solve your problem. If you get stuck, click on the link for help.

  • How do I rotate a movie I filmed with a smart phone? (hint)
  • How do I get started using Evernote? (hint)
  • How do I add a row to a table in Mirosoft Word?(hint)
  • How do I connect to my networked drives? (hint)
  • How do I edit the passwords stored on my web browser? (hint)
  • How do I find out the members of an email group on outlook? (hint)
  • How do I copy and paste a picture from the internet to a document or presentation? (hint)
  • How do I create scientific documents in Lyx? (hint)
  • How do I get started with Keynote? (hint)
  • How do I connect to a wireless network at a hotel? (hint)

Formative assessment

Good overview of Formative Assessment in Science
Ideas for formative assessment:

2 thoughts on “PD Session 4: Formative Assessment

  1. jmallan says:

    John this is fabulous – thank you so much for this post!

  2. Valerie says:

    Thanks for the resources. It’s great to have them in one place.

Leave a Reply

